You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

HDMI image quality inferior to DVI image quality?

I'm a graphic artist and image quality is my income. In that regard I am not happy with the image quality I am getting from my mac mini 2020 - connected with HDMI.

My monitor is a top-flight DELL U2713HM - rated the equivalent of the Apple Cinema Display.

I have tried every possible setting in the Displays pulldown - and none of them can achieve the same image quality I get from my old Snow Leopard display settings.

The image I get from the mac mini connected with HDMI looks washed out - greyed and flat in comparison to the exact same image as seen on my Cintiq 22 display (which I'm concurrently running on my Mac Pro running Snow Leopard)

I've ordered an adaptor to try to connect my Dell display through the DVI - USB-C port. So I'm wondering if the cable that came with my Dell has something to do with the improved image quality. I notice two heavy rubber bumpers at the top and bottom of the cable - maybe those improve the image quality?

I read on a discussion list somewhere about this problem:

"HDMI is not meant for computer monitor RBG. It's intended for broadcast TV using yCbCr color output. Use a DisplayPort of DVI connection."

Anyhow - I'm disappointed in the image quality issue with my new mac mini connecting through HDMI. Here's hoping the DVI adaptor to USB C helps.

The whole problem here for me is that to 99% of consumers, they'd never even notice this problem. For most users and gamers and TV video uses it's fine.

So unless you're a professional art director obsessed with image quality it wouldn't matter.

Any comments welcome.

Mac mini, macOS 10.15

Posted on Apr 23, 2020 7:42 AM