You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

📢 Newsroom Update

The new iPad mini is available today. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Apple Configurator 2 - IOS14

Hello,

I'm an IT Tech doing work for a school and they have just purchased 40 new iPads. I'm wanting update them to ISO 14 via Apple Configurator 2 via the schools MacBook Pro (OSX Catalina) but all i get is this error.

I'm managing to prepare and enroll them all into Meraki but I'm really really hoping I haven't got to update each one individually over the schools WiFi as this will take too much time and will kill the already poor internet speeds.

Hope someone can help!

Cheers

Mick

iPad

Posted on Sep 22, 2020 6:20 AM

Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on Sep 28, 2020 4:56 PM

This happens with some major iOS/iPadOS updates I've seen in the past, and I was reminded of this problem just last week.

If you are running macOS 14 or later you'll use Finder, if you're running an earlier version of macOS you'll use the iTunes.app (similar steps for either).

1. Open Apple Configurator 2, ensuring it is updated to the latest version available from the App Store Updates section
  2. Update one device to iOS/iPadOS 14, then connect it to your Mac
  3. Open Finder, and select the device from the left sidebar under the Locations section.
  4. You should receive a prompt stating "Apple Configurator 2 would like to update Device Support for currently connected devices."
  5. Click Install, you'll receive some status prompts and most likely will receive a prompt to Close Apple Configurator 2
  6. After the install you should see the device updated to the latest iOS or iPadOS version
  7. Open AC2 to confirm.