You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Finder > On My Mac Folder No Access

So I'm trying to add a folder to the On My Mac folder (I do not want it in iCloud) and I cannot add any folders or create folders inside it. I checked the permissions but it says I have unknown access. How can I solve this problem? I am the only user on the Mac, and I'm an administrator.

Posted on Mar 7, 2021 7:49 AM

Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on Mar 7, 2021 4:21 PM

Hi bts3,

It may be that, like on my computer, at least, the "On My Mac" folder is part of the Mail app.,

In your screenshot ... you also seems to have that folder listed in the Finder sidebar.

(To add a folder to Finder's side-bar, we can just drag the folder we want quick access to there.)

If I am understanding things correctly ...

With Mail open, you should be able to add folders/ mailboxes to "On my Mac" to store your Mail.

Apple has info. online on how to create mailboxes (folders) on Mac::

https://support.apple.com/en-au/guide/mail/mlhlp1021/14.0/mac/11.0

Please excuse, if I'm not seeing your situation correctly.

Just hoping this helps you.

3 replies
Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Mar 7, 2021 4:21 PM in response to bts3

Hi bts3,

It may be that, like on my computer, at least, the "On My Mac" folder is part of the Mail app.,

In your screenshot ... you also seems to have that folder listed in the Finder sidebar.

(To add a folder to Finder's side-bar, we can just drag the folder we want quick access to there.)

If I am understanding things correctly ...

With Mail open, you should be able to add folders/ mailboxes to "On my Mac" to store your Mail.

Apple has info. online on how to create mailboxes (folders) on Mac::