You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Automatic Catalina upgrade fails to complete its task, over and over

My 13" mid-2012 MBP runs on Catalina 10.15.7, its HD has plenty of space (250 GB), w/ no failures (checked with Disk Utility). For the last 4 weeks, a Catalina upgrade attempts to get installed automatically but failing to complete the task. After restart, the computer's screen looks as if it returned to some point in the past. Then the upgrading process starts again in a vice circle. In addition, each time this happens the laptop became too slow, taking considerable time to open any app. I am a layman in computer matters and seek for your kind help to explain in simple ways what I could do to overcome this problem.

If my computer is not compatible with this particular upgrade, I wonder whether there is a means to stop the automatic upgrading since my laptop capacity must be at its limit. A friend of mine told me to get back to Mojave or High Sierra and stay with that version. I could do that but assume I will again run into the automatic installation problem to end with Catalina and get stuck.

Thanks in advance for your valuable help

MacBook Pro 13″, macOS 10.15

Posted on Sep 17, 2021 12:22 PM

Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on Sep 17, 2021 5:22 PM

When you run First Aid click "Show Details" and manually scroll back through the report to see if there are any unfixed errors are listed. Unfortunately there can be catastrophic file system issues even if First Aid reports everything as "Ok".