You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

macOS Big Sur won't finish installing

Hi Im not very good with IT so sorry if my questions sound stupid. Im trying to install BigSur (have Catalina atm) but it won't finish installing. I get a message saying unable to install on Mac HD - but no option to put it elsewhere either (not sure whether I should be able to). My Mac is a bit dated but says I had 12.+ GB left out of 121+ storage. Surely this is sufficient ?

[Re-Titled by Moderator]

MacBook Air 13″, macOS 10.15

Posted on Jan 15, 2022 2:23 AM

Similar questions

12 replies

Jan 15, 2022 3:14 AM in response to MattsMom22

Tips How to Upgrade to Big Sur 

There are several points to consider before attempting the upgrade to Big Sur. The most important is Due Diligence on the part of the User and is a Prerequisite for a smooth upgrade.  

The below points should all be consider Before attempting the upgrade.

Point # 1 - Are there pre-existing Unresolved Software Issues. They should be resolved prior to upgrading - they may carryover to Big Sur making the system unstable / unusable.

Point # 2 - Are there any AntiVirus, Disk Cleaner, Optimizers, Un-installers, etc installed which should be removed as per Developers Instructions. They are useless, unneeded, cause havoc and interfere with the normal operation of the OS and may even Corrupt the OS requiring a Reinstallation. The The Built in Security  is all that is required.

Point # 2 A - Commercial VPNs should only be used if Mandated by Corporate Head Office for working remotely. Otherwise - ones Privacy and Security touted by the VPN is suspect.