You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Linking/Automating column of text data in Numbers

I've never used formulas, and I'm just learning to create multiple sheets / tables in a document.

Imagine a spreadsheet with 1,000 rows for various people, who can be classified into different categories: politicians, athletes, artists, etc. Each row includes a cell that holds a text ID for that individual (e.g. john-f-kennedy).

Now suppose I want to create a copy of this sheet that contains only rows featuring people who are politicians. Each row will have additional columns that add more detail, such as the dates they served in office. The John F. Kennedy row in this second sheet will have that same ID cell. However, I'd like to set it up so that, if I change the text ID in sheet #1, it will automatically change it in sheet #2.

But there's one more step. Rather than manually link 1,000 cells, is there a way to convert an entire column of ID's to something that automatically replicates itself when copied into another sheet or table?

For example, suppose sheet 1 includes three rows with the following text ID's:

john-f-kennedy

hugo-chavez

michelangelo

If I duplicate this sheet, these cells will already be automatically linked to sheet 1. So if I change "michelangelo" to "mickey" in sheet 1, it will also change to "mickey" in sheet 2.