You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Equations, Tables, and Special Characters from Word or PPTX Files in Files App on IOS

Hello,

To provide some background, I'm a college student studying mechanical engineering. I've made the switch from pen/pencil and paper to iPad for my note-taking, assignments, etc. I've utilized 2 apps for this: Microsoft OneNote and Goodnotes 6. Now, I primarily use Goodnotes 6. It's been a great switch because I'm able to take materials uploaded by my professor's (such as pdfs, Microsoft Word files, Microsoft PowerPoint files, etc.) and write directly on them.

Unfortunately, I've run into an issue where equations, tables, and/or special characters don't load in the IOS files app properly from Microsoft Word or PowerPoint files. I'm using an iPad 9th Gen. and iPad OS Version 16.4.1.

I typically download these PowerPoints or Word files from a Learning Management System (LMS) called Brightspace. If the file is uploaded as a PowerPoint file, then the file downloaded to my iPad through a web browser is a PowerPoint file. If I have Microsoft PowerPoint, Word, or 360 downloaded, then when I open the file in the IOS files app, the file automatically opens in one of those apps. Here, the equations, tables, and/or special characters are displayed correctly. As shown below.

If I don't have Microsoft PowerPoint, Word, or 360 installed, then the file automatically opens in the IOS files app. I'm unsure if this process utilizes the IOS standard softwares for word documents and presentations (pages or keynote) because it doesn't explicitly opening anything other than the file I'm viewing. See below for pictures of improper loading of equations, tables, and/or special characters.