You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

iMac M-chip with 27 inch or larger screen?

This is more of a manufacture and marketing question. Why didn't Apple give the M3 chip iMac a larger screen than just 24 inches?

My current iMac is a late 2014 model with 5K 27-inch screen and a 5 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7 processor. It still works very well, but its OS can't be updated beyond Big Sur v. 11.7.10. As a result software I depend on regularly such as Office 365 and Photoshop Lightroom Classic 12.5.2 also cannot be updated.

I am a retired college professor and can no longer afford to upgrade my Mac every few years. Neither can I afford a Mac Studio computer and an Apple Studio Display. Nor do I wish to downsize my display by purchasing an M3, 24-inch display iMac. (I find the idea of choosing one's own exterior color childish and beneath Apple's station in the computer world. Reminds me of a much earlier iMac offering. Colored computer cases = quicker obsolescence IMO.)

I really need to migrate to a Mac whose OSX is current and upgradable, but I don't need the power and can't afford the high price of a Studio model and Apple display. For the first time since 1992, when I switched from PC to Apple computers, Apple has made me feel stuck. 😞

-Neil Anderson

iMac 27″

Posted on Oct 19, 2024 10:38 AM

7 replies

Oct 19, 2024 10:51 AM in response to neila452

Hey there, my friend. I feel you.

I love my own still fully functional 27" iMac running Catalina and don't look forward to the day I actually chose to replace it. I'm hopeful that Apple will have introduced an iMac larger than the 24" units by that time. I can appreciate the power of the Mac Studio and the beautiful screen of the Apple Display, but like you can't afford that combination.