You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Basic Questions About Local File Storage in OS Catalina

Folks, please be patient with me. I have 30+ years' experience working on computers, including 12 years on an iMac (OS Snow Leopard) and when I bought my current computer, MacBook Pro, OS Catalina 10.15.7, I read the MacBook user's manual and also the OS Catalina manual. All that said, I am still unsure about some very elementary matters about data file management on my new MacBook.

1. If I want to store data files on the hard drive of the MacBook, I can open Finder, open Macintosh HD, open the Users folder, then open my own user account (let's call it "Jonah") and create folders to store data files locally. Correct?
  2. If I download data files into MacintoshHD>Users>Jonah>Downloads (i.e., the downloads folder that exists in the "original factory settings" in Catalina), then those data files are stored on the hard drive in my MacBook Pro, right? So when I use Time Machine to back up files to an external hard drive, they get backed up and are available to be restored if the data on the hard drive in my MacBook Pro is lost, right?
  3. I am (successfully!) using iCloud to sync photos between my iPhone, iPad and MacBook Pro. When I bought the MacBook Pro, I had to manually transfer all my photos from my old iMac. After doing so, in Finder, it appears that the photo files are stored locally in MacintoshHD>Users>Jonah>Pictures>Photo Library. Do I understand that correctly? The files are not simply on iCloud with no local file storage?