You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Am I really supposed to delete the items in the Timeline when switching projects?

I'm a super noob here, so forgive me for what I need explained. 

My understanding is that Events are like Albums in Photo and the Projects are like Photos. With that understanding, I broke my video into different beats, each with it's own project. Now I've finished Project A, I've clicked on Project B but Project A's timeline is still, well, in the timeline.

I looked around online and the advice was to select all the clips and delete. That makes me nervous. 

Either I misunderstand how to use Projects vs Events or I'm doing something that's preventing me from starting from a clean timeline -- or I really am supposed to delete: Can someone explain? 

iMac Pro

Posted on Feb 20, 2021 12:27 AM

Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on Feb 20, 2021 3:53 AM

Not sure what you mean in the analogy projects are like Photos. I don’t think that’s right. Projects are more like Projects in Photos.

Don’t just click a project in the browser, double click it to open it into the timeline.

Similar questions

9 replies

Feb 20, 2021 1:27 AM in response to stevenfromyokohama

No problem with your question. I understood there are many ways to implement working methods on FCP. This is FCP strong point. Very puzzling when you start, because you can't understand what's right or what's wrong.

I can tell you how I do.

You are right, Events are sort of albums, or rather folders. You can have many or have one, which is the solution I choose for the sake of simplicity. You can rename them. Move stuff back on forth between Events. Whatever. And very handy.