You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Migrating large folder structure from PC to albums in icloud photos

I'm a long-time PC user planning to get an iMac. I am a hobby photographer and have a large collection (approx 0.5TB) of Jpegs and RAW files that I want to be able to access on my new iMac. They are stored on my PC in a folder structure that I need to preserve (or at least transfer to an equivalent album structure in Photos).

I am attempting to transfer these photos to iCloud Photos, so that I will be able to access them on my new iMac (when it arrives). I have downloaded and installed iCloud for Windows. I have run into a couple of problems:

I would love to be able to just copy my existing folder structure to the iCloud Photos folder on my PC and have it create folder and / or albums based on the existing folder structure, and tag the photos to those albums accordingly. This does not seem to be possible (if I create a folder within my iCloud Photos folder on the PC it seems to be ignored by iCloud).

I am happy (sort of!) to recreate the folder structure manually as albums but I can't find an efficient way to do this. Can I manage albums from within iCloud for Windows? Or even see existing albums and assign photos to them? Right now I can't figure out how to do that.

I can create new albums using iCloud in my browser, but unfortunately, the browser interface does not support uploading RAW files (only Jpeg) so I can't create an album then drag photos from my PC into that album.