You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

M1 Macbook Pro with external monitor: suddenly colors, esp blacks, are washed out and awful on monitor

Problem: I am using a new 13" Macbook Pro M1 laptop with an external monitor (Asus Proart PA248Q), connected with HDMI using a hub on the mac end because the mac only has USB C ports. When I first connected these two a few weeks ago in early October 2021, they worked fine together. I used my Datacolor SpyderX Pro to calibrate the monitor using the most up-to-date software for that device, and everything worked fine with that, as well. Somewhere in the last few weeks I updated my MacBook Big Sur OS to 11.6 and at that time I did not encounter any issues. I am a photographer and in the last week I have had a lot of editing work to do. Last week I ran another calibration with the Spyder, and everything looked fine until a day or two later, when the monitor suddenly looked washed out and awful. Dark colors display too light and look hazy. I tried re-running calibration software and it looked worse, if anything. I reverted Monitor back to original settings and re-ran, still bad. I turned off all "auto" functions in the macbook's display preferences. I noticed that somewhere along the way the colorsync utility had opened without my prompting it. Ran verification and it listed all of my user created profiles as damaged along with 5 Photoshop profiles. Ran repair and it said it repaired mine but not photoshop profiles, but my profiles still looked awful on the monitor. NOTE: It's not just my user-created profiles that look bad, it's all profiles. Mine just look worse. I tried using a display port to usb c cord instead of hdmi, it made no difference. Of course I tried reb