You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

📢 Newsroom Update

Apple introduces powerful new iPad mini built for Apple Intelligence. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Access to iPad for child

As a parent novice, I need some advice. My daughter is getting older and would like to talk to some friends on the iPad. Currently she does not have her own iPad, it’s a shared family iPad with my details as the main account (iCloud, messaging etc). We have set up family sharing and have an iCloud for her now, but how can she communicate with her friends without then constantly bothering me? Do I need to shut off my iPad settings (my email etc) and replace with hers or is there another option? Any advice on kids and parents trying to use the same iPad welcomed!

iPad Pro 11-inch Wi-Fi

Posted on Jan 14, 2022 11:14 AM

Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on Jan 14, 2022 11:53 AM

Hi,

If you have set up Family Sharing and created a child account for her, you would need to sign out of your Apple ID in iCloud Settings and then sign in with her Apple ID.

When signed into iCloud Settings, your Apple ID is used for iCloud+ Backups, iMessage, FaceTime, Apple Pay & Apple Cash, as well as purchases and downloads. This is why you are receiving all of her iMessages on your other devices signed in with the same Apple ID.

Sign Out of iCloud Settings

Settings > Name > Sign Out at the bottom. Enter your Apple ID password to disable Find My for the device, and choose to keep a copy of certain data on the device upon signing out.

Once you are signed out, in Settings, tap ‘Sign into iPad’ and then sign in with her Apple ID information.