You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Monteray cannot play PNG movies!?

I have a massive Photos library of green screen effects I've been collecting for years. I'm not a pro - I just enjoy making fun movies with my kids, etc. After updating to Monteray however, the majority of .mov files will not open in Quicktime or in iMovie! I can play them in VLC, but if I want to use them in iMovie that doesn't help me. I compared the ones that do work with the ones that won't, and it seems that if they are JPEG movies, they're okay - but PNG videos will not work. I feel sick about this.

I went back to an older MacBook Pro and they worked fine in QuickLook, but I did notice that opening them in QuickTime (or iMovie) actually converted them to a prores format. Why can't they be converted by the newer QuickTime? Is Apple making it LESS capable? I don't understand why they would do that. These were all free clips found on various websites that I'm assuming use png for a transparent background. Handbrake won't convert to ProRes. I don't know how I'm going to be able to use my thousands of video clips anymore if I can't batch convert them. It seems like a pretty ubiquitous format, so I don't understand why Apple doesn't support it...nor why there aren't tons of people complaining about this...

Posted on Oct 13, 2022 2:30 PM

Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on Oct 13, 2022 11:36 PM

Up to macOS 10.14 Mojave QuickTime Player nagged and automatically offered to convert old obsolete codecs. But no more.

I converted such old movies (.dv etc) with MPEG Streamclip and later with ffmpeg to new H.264/265 AAC movies.