You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Apple Pro Display XDR charges MacBook and other devices but no screen is being displayed

Hi,

I've been using my Apple Pro Display XDR for over 3+ years now. During these years I've had several issues and reported one of them to Apple, namely: My Macbook(s) are being charged, but no screen will be displayed, as in a totally black screen. The MacBooks don’t even recognise the screen in settings.

The first time I reported this to Apple, a NVRAM reset helped the issue. I've had to use this solution once a year, but now the screen isn't working anymore and NVRAM reset doesn't work. 

I’ve been testing this issue with a MBP (2019), MBP (M1) and MBP (M2) but SMC / NVRAM reset doesn’t work. Anyone got any tips?

I've read stories on this community people often think the screen is 'asleep' but can't be woken up. Are more people experiencing this issue?

Pro Display

Posted on May 26, 2023 12:38 AM

Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on Jun 12, 2023 2:08 AM

Eventually contacted Apple support and I was able to deliver the screen to a premium reseller (we have a lot of those in the Netherlands). The repair center was able to request a new screen and it got swapped.

Similar questions

15 replies

Aug 25, 2023 11:54 AM in response to rwzdoorn2

I have got the same problem as you did.

Ofc no Apple Care + because who would think that a 6,5K display that never moves from my desk would not work after 3,5 years.

I have tried everything possible, even my iPad is not mirroring the screen but charges though.