You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Since tvOS 18 update Apple TV 4K and Apple TV HD output only stereo despite 5.1 selected

The stereo output exists for premium streaming apps (Max, Prime Video, Paramount+). It appears that only Home Sharing still plays 5.1 audio. Audio output for both Apple TVs has always been set to Format Change On, Dolby Digital 5.1, but setting to Auto doesn't provide a remedy. A week ago (before the update), all programs for which 5.1 was available played 5.1 output. Have tried force-quitting apps, restarting Apple TVs, deleting and reinstalling apps. No difference. Any idea when this will be fixed, Apple?

Apple TV 4K (3rd generation)

Posted on Sep 22, 2024 12:59 AM

Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on Oct 1, 2024 4:40 AM

As a developer I have found that the SDK API function AudioConverterFillComplexBuffer has stopped working for EAC3 in tvOS 18. This means it is not decoding EAC3 streams that use this API. The same function worked correctly on tvOS 17, and continues to work correctly on macOS.

Perhaps this is related, perhaps it isn't.

I've reported this via the developer Feedback Assistant.

36 replies
Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Oct 1, 2024 4:40 AM in response to llee

As a developer I have found that the SDK API function AudioConverterFillComplexBuffer has stopped working for EAC3 in tvOS 18. This means it is not decoding EAC3 streams that use this API. The same function worked correctly on tvOS 17, and continues to work correctly on macOS.

Perhaps this is related, perhaps it isn't.

I've reported this via the developer Feedback Assistant.

Sep 30, 2024 8:44 PM in response to llee